Queen’s WEC presents Down There

Image

 

On March 16th, I was fortunate enough to see the captivating show Down There, performed by members of the Women’s Empowerment Committee at Queen’s University. It was a collection of different pieces/stories written, directed and performed by students. The pieces were about sexual identity, and issues that are not openly discussed.

 

Walking into the show, I was not sure what to expect. Would this be one big production? Would there be small segments? What are these stories going to be like? Will I feel awkward? What will the audience be like? How will people react? Who is in the show? So many unknown possibilities and questions were running through my mind as I walked through the doors, and waited in anticipation for the show to start. With a mixture of nervousness and excitement, I walked away from the experience being very pleasantly surprised.

During the show, I felt myself react in many different ways to the different monologues as they were being performed. I felt a bit uncomfortable when I was watching the piece “Pretty” and “Not my Fault”. I was very intrigued by the actresses who were performing them, and the emotion they put into the performance truly conveyed the importance of the piece and message that it was giving. However, I also felt uncomfortable and the more I have thought about this, I have come to realize that I was able to draw a personal connection to each of the performances. The piece “Pretty” was performed by a girl my age, and someone I knew. The piece “Not My Fault” was a real life story written by a Queen’s student about her horrible experience with rape on campus. I believe that I felt a specific level of un comfort when exposed to these stories because they were very realistic to me, and I could grasp the possibility that that could be happening to anyone around me.

I also felt surprise and shock, specifically in the piece “Cellophane Wrapping”. The performer had the appearance of a man; he acted and sounded like a man, and even made comments to encourage the audience to assume that he was a male. However, in retrospect, he never explicitly stated that he was in fact a male. In my mind, I did not question it. My assumptions trumped any doubt that I could possibly have about his identification. At the end of the piece, he stated that he was in fact born a woman, however identifies himself as a transgendered man. I was completely caught off guard and shocked. The fact that I had assumed so much also shocked me, when I really knew nothing about him. I was also inspired by this piece because I had never seen such confidence and strength in a person when discussing identities, and he was very open and confident in his performance and sharing himself and a bit his story with an audience of strangers.

Lastly, I felt humor and amusement out of some of the pieces, specifically the “Feminism: A Disney Music” and “Blood Bath”. I thought that both of those pieces portrayed serious and debatable topics in an appropriate way which made them funny, and engaged the audience. They were a very good balance to the rest of the show, and also symbolized that although many of these topics and issues are seen in a dark or ignored light, they can be looked at in different ways. There were jokes made that, In my opinion, demonstrated to the audience that there are some topics that are potentially more easily discussed and talked about when you add some humor.

All in all, I think that the show Down There was eye opening. I was exposed to identification issues that I hadn’t really been exposed to before. I also caught myself making assumptions about people that I really have no right to make. I was able to see and feel firsthand what removing these identity issues from the shadow looked like and felt like, and I believe that Down There was the first step of many to exposing and addressing gender identification issues.

 

Have you heard about the show Down There? Is it something that interests you? How do you feel about gender identification issues? What assumptions do you make daily about peoples gender identification? Are these assumptions avoidable? 

5 thoughts on “Queen’s WEC presents Down There

  1. I’m curious about your reaction to the piece “Pretty,” which was also linked to in the slides from this week’s class – this was a great opening to the show and it definitely made me think as well. This is something that I’ve been struggling with for awhile: can you be a feminist and participate in trends and styles that are deemed “feminine” or “pretty”? At what point does participating in fashion culture make you hypocritical as a feminist? Personally I think that feminism is about everyone having the right to choose the way that they look, but it can be challenging to argue that you can be a feminist and enjoy wearing makeup, for example.

  2. Like a lot of people when I meet someone for the first time I do not ask them if they prefer to be called he or she. The activity we did in tutorial where we avoided gender assumptions when introducing our partners to the class made me realize how much we depend on gender identification. Although I think these assumptions can be avoided by causing more awareness to western society I do not believe it will occur in the near future due to popular culture and the social constructs that are so deeply routed into western society.

    • What assumptions do you make daily about peoples gender identification?
      I’m also guilty of making the assumption that the people I come across are in general are either male or female. I admit it is being discriminatory to transgender or people who do not classify with male or female gender classes because through my assumptions, it’s a similar interpretation as an assumption that people of gender other than male or female do not exist, which is obviously not true in our society. However, because our society was built up around the bases that there are only two genders male or female, we have created an environment which does not freely allow other gender classes to communicate their gender without being judged or being placed at a disadvantage, which leads to the next question..
      Are these assumptions avoidable?
      I believe that because we live in a society where individuals who classify themselves in other gender classes cannot freely portray their gender without being judged or treated unfairly, these assumptions that only male or females exist as a gender is unavoidable. By not representing other genders in our pop culture, by not allowing individuals of other genders to communicate it without consequences our society creates an environment where assumptions about peoples gender identification unavoidable.

      • It is really difficult to get away from the binaries. It’s like, you have to choose one or the other and anything else is grey area. But there is so much grey area. Not just regarding gender either… So then the strict black and white binaries are hard to let go of. Even people who try so hard to be inclusive and understanding have trouble (including myself).

      • totally agreed, although it shouldn’t be an excuse just because I’ve been raised for so long in such a strict black and white world with regards to gender, I still catch myself constantly being unfair to people of different genders.

Leave a Reply

